Personal Dictionaries

One of my favorite features on my smartphone — and this is on a device that gives me unlimited access to YouTube, Wikipedia, and a Gameboy Advance emulator, so that’s saying something — is my personal dictionary.  As I use the phone, I add words that I use commonly to this digital repository of my own personal vernacular, and it’s always a kick to read through it and see what I’ve been talking about.  The dictionary usually ends up being a mix of the profane, the really profane, the incredibly profane, and some uncommon first names.

It’s also wiped every time I get a new phone, which is a shame, since I’ve glided through a few different argots since entering the smartphone age: college, grad school, real world.  For posterity’s sake, I think I’m going to make a conscious effort to track this dictionary from now on, so I have a record of what was (linguistically) important to me over two-year, phone-contract-length periods of my life.

Here’s where I’m at on my current phone, purchased July 2014:

  • afro
  • Allegra
  • Altos
  • Arevalo
  • Aseem
  • ass
  • autocorrect
  • Bahaha
  • Boba
  • brah
  • brinner
  • bullshit
  • Busey
  • buss
  • caltrain
  • carpools
  • Clapper
  • clusterfuck
  • CMB
  • crap
  • Creasman
  • dammit
  • derp
  • dick
  • Duchi
  • Eyjafjallajökull
  • Fausto
  • frisbee
  • fuck
  • fucking
  • Galvez
  • gsb
  • guerrero
  • Hahahaha
  • Haight
  • hamantaschen
  • Hanergy
  • Harbaugh
  • hashtag
  • hell
  • heyo
  • Heyuan
  • Hm
  • HMI
  • hobbit
  • Hokay
  • hooker
  • Idyllwild
  • instagram
  • iridium
  • Jaslyn
  • jbox
  • Jenn
  • Karpas
  • Kiran
  • Kk
  • komodo
  • LA
  • latke
  • Ln
  • lyft
  • materializing
  • Meghali
  • MiaSolé
  • Middlefield
  • Mingwei
  • minyan
  • MTV
  • Newhall
  • NFL
  • oof
  • Peachland
  • penumbra
  • Philz
  • pimped
  • Purun
  • Reis
  • roh
  • ruh
  • Sabeti
  • Schuessler
  • SCV
  • SF
  • SFO
  • Shih
  • Shishi
  • shit
  • shitty
  • shul
  • snapchat
  • snapchats
  • Splitwise
  • Spotify
  • Sumers
  • sumo
  • tacker
  • tackers
  • TDao
  • Tesla
  • Tessaly
  • Thuy
  • uber
  • Uhhh
  • Varun
  • venmo
  • vpn
  • Wai
  • womp
  • wtf
  • yarp
  • Yessir
  • Yingli
