The Great Midwest

For the uninitiated: I have accepted a ten-week long internship with General Motors, that mostly-stalwart of the automotive industry, which starts tomorrow.  I am currently writing this from what is euphemistically referred to as “student housing” in Novi, Michigan.  However, when I say it’s euphemistically student housing, I mean this apartment is friggin’ huge.  I have the master bedroom, which is probably 15 x 20 feet with its own walk-in closet and bathroom.  Oh, and a queen-sized bed.  A QUEEN BED.  It’s like I died and went to college dorm heaven.  Only heaven’s in Novi, Michigan.

I hope to chronicle my adventure in the American heartland here, but we’ll see how many adventures I get up to and whether they’re worth talking about.  I’m putting in full-time work on the Chevy Volt and don’t know anyone (plus my roommate hasn’t shown up and may not even be planning on showing up), but that’s no reason not to explore the Midwest, right?  I even read the Wikipedia article on Inland Northern American English so I can blend in like a local.  And work, at least, promises to entertain me.  I get to test drive things.

Random observations about Michigan so far:

  • it’s quite flat
  • it’s quite green
  • it’s goddamn humid
  • and I can’t tell if there are a disproportionate number of American cars on the road, or if I’m just used to Palo Alto and the distinct lack of BMWs, Audis, and Porsches is throwing me off
One comment

  1. “In Detroit, a sliding glass door can be referred to as a ‘doorwall'” [paraphrase].

    Oh. My. God. It’s worse than I imagined.

Comments are closed.